Wow, Sucker Punch Babydoll’s sister death controversy

Hello friends and readers, I have to say after I had posted those questions and answers I thought I’d not have to revisit this. Now as you see in the one comment people disagree with me that Babydoll didn’t kill her sister. It certainly is a reasonable theory that she did – basically they’re all saying when she shot past the stepdad as a warning the bullet hit her little sister instead. On its face this seems absolutely true however I don’t believe it is I do still think her stepdad beat the sister to death.

Here’s why I think that:

The stepdad attacks Babydoll in an effort to kill her, no daughters means he gets all the inheritance. He fails and locks her in a room and she sees him turning his attention to her sister so she climbs out the window in an effort to escape the room and save the sister. During her run to get back into the house we see her sister lock herself in a closet and curl up terrified on the floor, the last time we see her alive, and the stepdad breaking down the door. Babydoll grabs a gun on the way to save her sister and confronts the stepdad. We see in the background the closet door is busted open and the sister cannot be seen. Babydoll fires a warning shot past the stepdad’s head and it shatters the lightbulb, again we don’t see the sister at all. The stepdad gets out of Babydoll’s way and she kneels over the dead body of her sister lying in a pool of her own blood.

This is what is shown to the audience and again on the surface it would seem that Babydoll accidentally killed her sister however the fact she was aiming up with her warning shot, both because he’s a lot bigger than her and because the bullet shattered the lightbulb hanging from the ceiling, and we don’t see her little sister in the background indicating she was still on the floor, whether curled up or dead we don’t know yet. As the one commentor argues the bullet could’ve ricocheted and hit her sister thus killing her, my problem with this, as I rebutted him, was that the walls are all plaster or drywall and bullets go through those like a rock through wet paper so it couldn’t have done that.

Then there’s the fact the stepdad wanted a labotomy done specifically to prevent Babydoll from talking to the police about what happened that night. He wants this so badly that he gives in to the blackmail the head orderly is doing to ensure it gets done. If Babydoll had accidentally killed her sister the stepdad wouldn’t have anything to worry about, one daughter dead the other incapacitated getting the money would be easy. Then in the end when the head orderly is arrested he starts screaming about how it was all the stepdad’s doing, that he’s got stuff on him. I realize that isn’t a very strong point, cirmcumstantial evidence at best, since the orderly could be referring to being paid to forge a doctor’s orders to force a labotomy on Babydoll but when added to everything else it helps indicate her innocence. Finally there is one question that comes to mind about this – if Babydoll had accidentally killed her sister, the sister she loves and did all she could to protect, then why at no point in the movie did she succumb to guilt, remorse, or depression, not even once?

So now that I’ve presented the evidence, both hard evidence and circumstantial, I hope you all understand why I believe Babydoll is innocent of the murder of her sister. If you still disagree and wish to offer a rebuttal by all means please do since I’d like to hear it. I do ask if you do so to please provide evidence supporting your argument; simply saying you don’t believe or only stating you think I’m wrong isn’t enough and no offense I will not let such comments be posted.

In other news there’s a few jobs opening up today so I’m going to run out and apply, I didn’t get those medical field jobs or the vet job I had blogged about some time ago and while I am saddened by that I was expecting it. We keep getting snow and well I am rather sick of it, lol, stop sending us snow!! LOL Anyway it’s still too early to hear about the other jobs I applied to last week, most won’t be doing interviews until later this week or next, I’m still gonna be throwing out resumes. I’m starting to feel hopeful since I’m able to throw out a lot more resumes than I have been but I am still rather depressed it’s taking this long to get a job. I found an article about this ab exercise that some trainers love and claim is alot better than the standard crunches or sit-ups. The say this cause it works alot more muscles for a longer and it works loads better at getting hawt abs than them. Normally I wouldn’t bother talking about excercise to all of you but I thought I’d share this with anyone who wishes to know.

Okay so what you do get in push-up formation then you lift your right arm and left leg and hold them there for 5 minutes. Once done you lower them and switch to your left arm and right leg and hold for 5 minutes. And that’s it. According to the article it’ll help you get those sexy abs everyone loves to eat off of or do body shots off  – LOL reason enough to use it eh ?

For a more indepth and more detailed look at this article here the link:

http://lifestyle.ca.msn.com/health-fitness/fitness/rodale-article.aspx?cp-documentid=28036868

Alright friends and readers I am off to start my day and I hope things are going awesome for you all.

Till next time much love ^_^

60 thoughts on “Wow, Sucker Punch Babydoll’s sister death controversy

  1. I don’t think she killed her sister. After she fired the warning shot we see a pip in the back with steam coming out of a hole. I had to watch the beginning again before i realized it was the bullet hole. The pip is located behind them so her sister couldn’t have been shot by baby doll.
    However, she could have been cut by the falling glass. The glass was going somewhat in her direction but when baby doll picked her up, there was no glass around her. I think if it had killed her that zac snider would have laid glass around her. Plus the wrong side of her neck was bleeding.

    • Thank you for sharing this. I hadn’t actually noticed the hole you’re referring too and at the risk of sounding like a know-it-all jerk I’d say it seems to be the smoking gun (no pun intended) to Babydoll’s innocence.

  2. I agree with you completely! Wow, I just got in a huge argument with someone about this last night, after seeing Sucker Punch for the second time. There’s no bullet hole in the front of the sister, just from behind. But yeah, even the first time I saw it, I thought the stepdad killed the sister, seeing it for the second time just cemented that idea.

    However. Babydoll DID succomb to guilt, remorse and depression. It was over the loss of her sister, not the guilt of having done it herself. So often we feel horrible guilt and remorse over something that wasn’t our fault. It’s human nature. And how often do we think we could have prevented something, if only we’d.. if only we’d… well, done something different. Anything different. And we keep playing it over and over in our minds. If she was better with the gun. If she was faster. If she had let nothing stand in her way. Pretty much everything we see her doing in her fantasy world.

  3. LOL you’re right it was a poorly worded question. When I wrote that question about succumbing to guilt and all that I was meaning because of her killing her sister.

    Nicely pointing out the “if only” thing she’s doing in her fantasies, it’s one thing that hasn’t been mentioned and it really should have been, thank you.

  4. When i watched the movie it didn’t even crossed my mind that Babydoll had killed her sister… it seems to me that it was implicit that the stepfather did it and she didn’t get to her sister in time to save her… There is no evidence that indicates that Babydoll killed her, she only fired the gun once and that bullet couldn’t hit her – for all the reasons you already said…

  5. I don’t think Babydoll killed her sister, for the many reasons you list above, but I do think she thought she had. From the scenes with the stepfather it seemed to me more like he was planning to sexually abuse Babydoll (and then the sister) rather than kill her outright. I await the directors cut to see if this sheds any more information!

    • I thought so too at first, for the sexual abuse, but as the scene went on I realized he was wanting to kill her instead.

      I disagree that she thought she killed her sister because it didn’t look like she was blaming herself when she saw her sister’s body, shock and sadness of course but I didn’t see self-blame, add that to her almost shooting her stepdad after and I don’t believe she thought she did.

      I hope for a director’s cut for the same reason as you or at least when the bluray comes out it’ll have everything stated for us.

  6. I completely agree with this point of view, I highly doubt myself if was Babydoll’s doing…

    There’s a few things to be cleared
    1.- the fact that she’s bigger and taller than her sister, added to the fact the stepfather’s even taller, so aiming at the head.

    2.- When did she pick up the gun? there’s a time frame missing when the stepfather could have done anything, I know the movie seems somewhat written under the influence of weed, but that happened before she got herself into her own world to scape the remorse.

    There’s something new in the Extended cut, a second gunshot, lower, to the left arm, which will trigger even more speculation, but the little girl was in the ground already…

    • Exactly, there’s no way Babydoll could’ve shot her sister at all. And Andre I’m sorry but I don’t approve comments that are basically “I’m right, you’re wrong”

  7. Don’t know if you seen the extended cut, but it’s pretty convincing that Babydoll kills her sister. In the extended cut, she fires 2 shots, one a bit higher, which she misses and hits the light bulb, and the second a bit lower, where she hits the stepfather in the forearm. The bullet ricochets off a pipe and hits her sister. If you see the position of the hole in the pipe, it’s in the lower center, meaning if it did ricochet, it’d be towards the floor, where her sister would have been.

    I also disagree about her stepfather trying to kill her. You say he tried to kill Babydoll and failed, but how did he fail if he had pushed her to the ground and he was standing in the doorway? If he wanted to kill her, he had all the opportunity. Instead, he locked her in and went across the hall to her sister. Pretty much tells me he wanted to sexually abuse her, she fought back, so he went to sexually abuse the little sister.

    As for him being blackmailed for more money from Blue, it could be just because of the abuse her and her sister had been through at his hand. He rather not risk her telling the police anything. And since the whole conversation about lobotomy goes on in front of her face, that’s another thing she can tell the police about.

    • As I’ve stated in my blogs I have not seen the extended cut yet and therefore am unable to comment about the new scenes. I’ve been told those scenes further prove Babydoll’s innocence.

      I think it’s very clear that her stepfather tried to kill her, remember he did attack her and he did chase her. Why do that if he wasn’t trying to kill her? Also remember he didn’t attack her and her sister until after he found out about the will. The only way he’d get the money is if they were dead so he would need to kill them.

      It is possible he was trying to hide his involvement from the attack he made on them that night. However if that was the case he wouldn’t need to worry at all since he could just say due to her mental illness he was trying to prevent her from harming her sister thus explaining any injuries she may have had and providing an alibi next to impossible to disprove since Babydoll’s word would be the only evidence against him. It’s more likely he was trying to hide his attempting to kill her if the police were told by Babydoll the stepfather was trying to kill them then a more thorough investigation would be done.

      Thank you Alex, when I do get to watch the extended cut I’ll pay careful attention to the scene and be able to comment on it further.

      • See, I think the girls had been sexually abused for some time. If we see how Babydoll looks at him when her mother dies, we see he adjusts his collar and smiles. This movie is all about imagery. He does this collar adjusting and smiling again when he’s about to abuse the little sister. Also, when he’s chasing after Babydoll, he pulls her shirt and one of her buttons falls off and the camera focuses in on it. In the Maximum Movie Mode, on the Blu-Ray extended cut, Zack Snyder himself said that this button rolling on the floor was to give the audience the impression that something was going on here. But obviously, he couldn’t show the actual abuse, most of which because he was trying to get a PG-13 rating on this movie.

        But aside from that, another clue that he’s been doing something to these girls, is that they are afraid of him. The way Babydoll looks at him at the funeral and when he’s just standing in the hallway, she runs into her room to lock her door. And when he goes into the little sister’s room, her first reaction is to get out of bed and lock herself in the closet. Tells me they have fear of him, and I doubt they know about the inheritance, since the stepfather was the first to open it. So it’s not like they were afraid cause they knew he was going to kill them for the inheritance.

        But yeah, definitely check out the extended cut. It’s only on Blu-Ray btw, a couple people bought the DVD by mistake thinking it offered the extended cut. And the Maximum Movie Mode that comes with it explains a bit too. Would love to hear your thoughts after watching it.

  8. The bullet I think ricocheted killing her sister because they show the lightbulb busting as well as the steam pipe. The bullet then ricocheted off the steel pipe hitting her sister. Also, they lock baby doll away because they had to have found that she was shot, with baby doll the last person using the gun. Otherwise it was her word against his.

    • First thank you for coming Elizabeth, second I did address this in a later blog where I explain I still don’t see Babydoll shot her sister. In a nutshell because of the hole in the pipe and the damage around the hole which indicates the bullet entered the pipe and thus could not ricochet. As for her getting committed into the asylum that does not prove she shot her sister. A person may be committed if they’re deemed to be a danger to themselves or others, since Babydoll was clearly distraught and pushed to use the gun the stepfather could easily use this to get her committed.

      I would like to invite you to read the last blog I wrote about this as I go more indepth about this and reveal information for those who never watched the director’s cut.

  9. Laxim, what is Baby Doll’s sisters name? Not the actress but the character… and please don’t say she doesn’t have one! I’m 13 years old so I’m pretty deter mend to figure this out :L Please reply soon… oh! And thank you!

  10. Oh… that’s what I thought at first but… you know I just really thought maybe by a small chance she did. I guess I’ll just call her Babe kind of like BabyDoll sense their sisters lol

  11. i dont thnk tht baby doll killed her sister becuase she was trying to prtect her but probaly alot of glass went her way and killed the sister

  12. This is Emily Browning from Sucker Punch, I just wanted Laxim to know how much I appreciated you for writing almost nine paragraphs just about “my little sister” dying. I know it’s bad that she dies but thank you for making our movie more popular!

    • Thank you, umm please don’t take this the wrong way but understand if I have my doubts about you being the real Emily. Regardless I really appreciate the feedback and honestly I loved the movie and just wanted to discuss it especially since so many have come here to read my thoughts and the comments left by those who had something to add. If you are the real Emily first I apologize for doubting you and have to say awesome movie, second you’re really gorgeous and I really enjoyed your performance, and third….damn! Thank you so much from stopping by here ^_^

  13. Yes, I understand it is hard to believe I would be on here checking out your site, but celebrity’s are as normal as anyone else in the world! Thank you so much for calling me beautiful by the way! Good job on your website and I’m so happy you liked my movie!

  14. Also, it was meant that “my step father” had killed her, the director knew people might get confused about that certain scene but we worked so hard on it so we figured there was a few details for the fans to figure that out, just so you know, and again, thank you!

    • Welcome back Emily. What you may not be aware of is whenever someone leaves me a comment on here I get a lot of info about them. Information I can use to verify whether or not someone is who they claim they are. For instance did you know that using this information I discovered you left these comments from a small town in Washington state?

      What I find interesting about that is Emily Browning the star of Suckerpunch is currently no where close to there. When I discovered this I was rather upset by this revelation and my original comment reflect that. However I have since edited it and must ask you to please prove you are indeed Emily Browning the actress as you claim?

      Just so you know I do gladly approve any comment that adds to the discussion, whether they agree with me or not, or ones that are meant to say hi or something similar. Thank you in advance.

  15. Well, please tell me how I can prove that I am myself, Emily Browning, and also, I am certainly not in Washington State. Maybe you should try recalculating your little system please, and I am indeed myself and not to be rude but I do not like being told other wise.

    • To answer your first question you can get on cam for me to let me know that way. Second in the interest of fairness I used a completely different system to check the information given to me and used yet another program to locate where your comments are coming from and I still got the same place – a small town in Washington state. While I don’t mean to call you a liar understand just where it is I’m coming from. Someone claiming to be a celebrity comes to your site and after a bit of digging, using multiple software systems, you discover those comments are being posted from a place said celebrity is no where close to. What would you think in my situation?

      I don’t mean any disrespect but I can only go by the information I have. If you don’t wish to get on cam or anything like that no worries you’re more than welcome to continue commenting.

  16. Thank you for being mature about this, but what exactly do you mean by a cam? I have no idea why your system says I’m in Washington but I don’t want to argue about who I am anymore. I know who I am and you can believe what ever you like…

    • I understand as far as I know my system is clean, I do regular checks and maintenance and as I said even if you just send a pic with you holding a sign with my name on it that would work as well. Also remember, and to sound like a broken record lol, if you don’t wish to then don’t I’m not going to be hurt or hold it against you, ultimately it is your decision and regardless of what you decide you’ll still be welcome here.

  17. Well, you see I do fit in time to write to you so in my free time I will indeed try to do what you had asked. Of course, you’re sure this place is secure even though it says I’m in Washington State. Oh well, again, I’ll see what I can do, I just am glad the MTV networks don’t look on here, why, I would be on the news! Ha ha,

    • This is done through wordpress and I’ve had no troubles with anything viral. Anyway glad you’re still wishing to stick around and I hope you’ve been enjoying my site.

    • I’m sorry that it didn’t get through, I don’t know why it wouldn’t work. Regardless no worries hope you enjoy my blog and continue to read them.

  18. I do, and this shouldn’t have gotten into a big argument anyways, I know who I am, you can believe what you like, and that’s that :). I will indeed continue to read your blog in my free time, by the way, have you seen my new movie “Sleeping Beauty”?

    • Sorry wasn’t meaning to make it an argument but to answer your question no I haven’t seen it. I haven’t had much time to do much of anything in my virtually non-existant free time.

  19. Their stepdad killed her sister because one moment the stepdad was looking down because he killed the sister he is looking down because the girl wasdead and lain down

  20. I believe the step dad killed the sister because he was trying to brake down the door to the sister, and she was hiding from him, this movie has gotten old to others but definetly not to me :). Also, the step dad held his shoulder because Baby Doll obviously shot him and it went through the light bulb which was above Baby Doll’s sister.

  21. Babydoll definitely killed her sister because why else would they show the pipes leaking.

    She shot the gun, it burst hit the light bulb, you see two pipes; one burst and one not, and than you see the step father going down holding his left wrist as babydoll runs to her sister

    • I have already addressed the pipes in my other blog I ask you to please read it as I already discussed in it why they do not prove Babydoll’s guilt but rather her innocence. In short, as I discuss it longer in my other blog which I have provided in the link above in a previous comment, the bullet punched into the pipe the pipe did not burst thus the bullet could not have ricocheted and thus could not have killed Babydoll’s sister.

    • I don’t know for certain. She’s tried to send proof through this site but there was a problem with it and they weren’t posted. However the information I recieved shows her comments were sent from a fan site through a house located in a small town in Montana state, USA. At the time of those comments Emily wasn’t located in the US however this doesn’t necessarily mean she wasn’t the real Emily Browning, though it is one possibility, it is possible it was the real Emily sending the comments through her fansite as many celebrites do.

      Given all this decide as you will regardless if she is or not I’m happy she liked my blogs and reviews and continues to come.

  22. Intenttodement – First off some of my commenters are indeed fans but calling them stupid as well as myself because you disliked the movie is illogical and just makes you an asshole. You clearly have not read my rules for comments – I only have two and you broke both – your comments did not add anything to this discussion, calling me and my commenters (including the ones that dispute my opinions) stupid and also your quote of imbd site is not accurate, and you framed them in a very asshole manner. This is why you were not approved.

  23. I am not sure if anyone commented on this yet. I am actually torn on whom killed the baby sister because I found the scene unclear. I suppose that is left up to the viewer to decide. My comments are about sexual abuse. Most of the movie has a sexual theme. Hints, baby doll imagines she is some sort of performer which to me seems like the people have a choice in which girl they want. Seems like a sex slave operation. Also, in the beginning, her sister runs and Hudson from her stepfather. Why would she do so if he was going after her to kill her unless he tried before. Those girls were being sexually abused in my opinion and the know if their mother died, the could no longer be protected.

  24. Sorry, I meant to say the little sister runs and HIDES from her stepfather which gives me some indication that there is some abuse.

    • Welcome to my site Dom and some of my wonderful commentors have indeed mentioned the abuse you point out. I also watched the director’s commentary on the special edition, or whatever it’s called, on the bluray and Snyder confirms the girls were indeed abused. Thank you for reminding us of this fact and I apologize for taking so long to respond and approve your comments (I’ve been busy getting my book published).

      • Thank you for welcoming me. I love to read healthy mature debates. I am a firm believer that we can all agree to disagree. Congratulations on your book and I wish you much success. BTW, did Snyder ever mention if baby was the one who killed her sister in his commentary?

      • He never mentioned anything about that, which surprised me in all honesty. He did admit he intentionally left many things vague in the movie so we the audience will have to come to our own conclusion on things. I actually discuss this in the final Suckerpunch blog I wrote. While I believe the stepfather killed the sister I suspect that scene could very well be one of Snyder’s vague scenes.

        Thank you for the congrats, we’ll see what happens.

  25. OMG! Sorry, I haven’t replied in such along time. If that is the REAL Emily Browning and she comes on her again, HI! Also, Laxim, LOVE the blog! I’m sure your book will be great because of your writing skills on here :) ! You have my best wishes!

    • Thank you, I enjoy writing both my blog and my book. So far a couple of hundred of picked up my book so I’m hopeful it lives up to their expectations and they love the journey I presented.

  26. Seems like laxim, you might want to get onto the Sucker Punch Wiki and inform them further, since they stated that it was the ricochet that ended the sister’s life. Don’t know if you knew this or not. Glad to notify you if you didn’t, and I apologize for repetition if you already knew.

    • Thank you Tom. As far as I’m concerned this issue is a dead one. Wikipedia is first not an official source of anything thus making any claims listed on it as opinion, nothing more. Second it is a site where literally anyone may alter it in any fashion they wish further confirming any claim made on there, in general, an opinion. In no way am I saying it is always wrong, no many who do contribute to the site do indeed have actual official sources which actually prove the claims found on it. However in this specific case of Babydoll’s sister’s murder the director himself, Zach Snyder, has stated the whole movie could simply be a fabrication of Babydoll’s mind, or happens as is presented, and further he specifically states anyone may find evidence to support any and all claims they make of his movie (this is all stated within the director’s commentary found on the bluray). In short the answer to who killed the sister is at best an opinion because of what Snyder says; believe whichever makes better sense to you but for the record I still stand by my analysis.

      Update:

      Tom I have checked out the wiki as you suggested and it states Babydoll is blamed for her sister’s death and not actually guilty of it. Here is the quote: “In the 1960s,[8] a 20-year-old woman[8] nicknamed “Babydoll” (Emily Browning) is institutionalized by her widowed stepfather (Gerard Plunkett) at the Lennox House for the Mentally Insane after she is blamed for the death of her younger sister. The stepfather bribes Blue Jones (Oscar Isaac), one of the asylum’s orderlies, into forging the signature of the asylum’s psychiatrist, Dr. Vera Gorski (Carla Gugino), to have Babydoll lobotomized so she cannot inform the authorities of the true circumstances leading to her sister’s death.”

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sucker_Punch_(film)

      I am glad those who contributed to this wiki have ensured to state she’s blamed but not actually guilty as we cannot know for certain for the reasons stated above, though again I’ll state I stand by my analysis and claim the sister was murdered by the stepdad.

  27. What’s up everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site, and article is really fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these content.

Leave a Reply

